question, i need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2004, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default question, i need help

For those of you with a Radeon 9600 or had a Radeon 9600, maybe you can help me. I have been having problems with this card lately.

A few weeks ago I oced my card 10MHz on core and mem. Nothing huge. Then my card had been locking up, refershing at different resolutions during bf1942dc or internet useage. So i tried different drivers. Catalyst 3.9, 3.10, 4.1, 4.4, 4.9 (4.9 being the latest). Nothing different. I put my card back at the default clock settings, still the same problems. I wiped my drive reinstalled everything, running catalyst 3.9, still have the same problems. I tried 4.9 still with the same problems. I cant think of anything else, could it be that I need a new card?

Thanks for the help, I need it.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 11:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

A few things to make sure. One, trueform should be OFF. Same for Fastwrite (off). If you can, the easiest way to test your card would be in another computer. You can also check out the omega drivers. They work great (better than catalyst in most cases). You can download them from omegadrivers.net
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 11:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I would be more comfortalbe sticking with ATI drivers for the time being. As for true form and fast write, do I make those changes in the bios?

Thanks.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 11:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I am also having problems with the VPU The screen pauses, resloution resets and a message pops up stating the following:

VPU recover has reset your graphics accelerator as it was no longer responding to graphics driver commands.

This is getting annoying, and I would like to solve this things soon.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 01:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AND_YOU_ARE
I would be more comfortalbe sticking with ATI drivers for the time being. As for true form and fast write, do I make those changes in the bios?

Thanks.
Yes, i think there in the bios.
--- Have you reinstalled your drivers, mabey you should try the omega drivers as stated by zerozero, they wont destroy your card.
__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 01:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zerozero
A few things to make sure. One, trueform should be OFF. Same for Fastwrite (off). If you can, the easiest way to test your card would be in another computer. You can also check out the omega drivers. They work great (better than catalyst in most cases). You can download them from omegadrivers.net
I turned off fastwrite in the bios, but i dont know where to find trueform.

I still need help with this problem.

Thanks
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 03:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Well i tried the omega drivers, the latest off their site, and same problem as before. Now it seems like it is a problem with my video card. Any other suggestions? I realy need help on this problem.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 07:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Does any one have anything that could help me?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 11:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Dont worry every one. I fixed my problem, with my own knowledge. But for the two who did reply, thanks, but i guess it wasnt the solution.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 04:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

So what was the solution if you don't mind? By the way, both trueform and fastwrite can be found in one of the tab of the ATI control panel. Trueform is under the 3d tab (select custom) and fastwrite is under the troubleshoot tab.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.