Question about Western Digital Drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2004, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question Question about Western Digital Drives

I have a WD Caviar 102AA from a Gateway box.

I am in the process of backing up the email. This drive seems to make a lot of noise. And since I just have it on my desk with an IDE cable attached will I move the data off, it's slowly moving from one end of the desk to the other.

Are they know to be noisy drives???

Is this normal behavour for WD Drives? :question:
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 01:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, these types of drives are usually suspended and mounted from the sides. It makes sense that the drive is vibrating on the desk and making a lot of noise. As for the particular brand, no, I personally haven't heard about them being louder than others.
Also, if these drives are encased in a manner to be used in an external fasion, they are usually surrounded by material to help keep it as stable as possible. Put a towel down and then place a anti-static bag on the towel and put the drive on that.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 02:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikesgroovin
Well, these types of drives are usually suspended and mounted from the sides. It makes sense that the drive is vibrating on the desk
I have been known to race Seagate 15K Scsi's across desks. Those babies are known to travel once they get the RPMs up.


I have scanned the harddrive, and I have found some bad sectors on it. I think the heads are dying.

Just as well I backed up the data last week.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 03:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MicroBell
LOL..When they go bad..they all make noise. I had a Maxtor...scare me outa my seat one time...was quite..and then CLANK..CLANK..CLANK..Jezzzzzzzz.
I have a 20Gb Quantum at work that sounds like one of my early Nine Inch Nails Cds
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 161
Default

Mine is loud when booting up
Cherubimon_3.20 is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cherubimon_3.20
Mine is loud when booting up
Probably because you have enough air flow to properly accomodate my apartment! LOL

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 131
Default

Your seeing the properties of a gyroscopic device in action. Its not complicated, as the drive spins its a gryo and will react to pressures on its surface.
Marvel is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 06:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Lol, I have a Quantum Bigfoot that's 6 gigs and it massive. Put two hardrives front to end and that's how long it is. It still works though. Anyways, WD is known to have loud h.d.d's.
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 03:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

I just replaced a WD 80 gig hd on my machine less than two months ago. It whines when it revs up to read anything. Really f***ing annoying.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 05:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I get get a little edgy when ever my HDD's make any sort of weird noise.

After all, parts I can replace. Data I can not.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.