Question about Switching Video Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2004, 09:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
JND
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Default Question about Switching Video Cards

I currently have a rickety GeForce 2 Mx/Mx 400 card in my computer. I would like to get the Radeon 9800 SE.

I've had a couple friends caution me on switching from the GeForce to the Radeon and vice versa. All they could tell me was that XP does not like it and that I would likely need to reformat Windows. Seeing as that wasn't too much to go on, I figured I'd ask a little broader base of computer users.

Has anyone had any problems making this switch or an suggestions/cautions I should heed?

Thanks,
Nate
__________________

JND is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 09:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

I've switched back and forth a few times, from ATI to Nvidia.. back to ATI... and now back to Nvidia.

Just remember to uninstall your old display drivers and any video card related software (such as ATI Control Panel) that might have been loaded with your old video card.

You shouldnt have any problems after that.


Also, make sure you have the drivers for the new card availble... one time I misplaced the drivers and I was stuck at 640x480 for a while until I could download them.... it wasnt pretty.
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 09:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
JND
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Default

HoloCron, Thanks for the response. That leads me to another question: What would be the best way to go about uninstalling these?

Would I go into Control Panel > System > Hardware > Device Manager and then opt to unistall there?

This question could really show my ingorance, but if i uninstall my video driver, take out my old and put in my new card, will my computer display work w/o the new drivers installed?
JND is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 10:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

The control panel approach works out fine, you'll be ok.

What you want to do if go to the Add/Remove Programs applet in Control Panel.

Look for the Nvidia or ATI adapter and click on the remove button.

When you do this, you will have to restart the computer.

Go ahead and shut if off, unplug the powe cable on your power supply, switch video cards and power on your PC.

That should be it. Don't forget to have your drivers handy.. very important!

Oh... and even if you don't have your new drivers handy, your card will work and you will see your desktop and stuff but the colors and resolutions will be all wacky (Super huge icons and windows, and only 16 - 256 colors)
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 10:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

I agree with Holo's advice ...except for one thing that control panel unistall clears up the drivers ..

This method normallys tends to leave some residual files ..which may / maynot create problems

I would suggest u use Driver Cleaner

N' then install the new drivers after the restart n' changing of cards
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 11:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
JND
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for everyone's help. I'm going to get the new card and give this a try.
JND is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 09:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

as long as you uninstall / install properly you wont have any problems switching cards.
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 10:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Can you have 2 video cards at the same time.

I have Nvidia geforce mx 440 (or something like that)

I ordered the 9800 pro today.

Do I have to remove the nvidia card?
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 12:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

If the MX 440 is a PCI card, then you can have the 9800 Pro in the AGP slot and the 440 in the PCI slot, ya, but if the MX 440 is an AGP card, then you would HAVE to remove it to put in the 9800 Pro :P

Although removing the MX 440 would probably be the best, even if it is a PCI card, because of the fact that it MAY cause some problems/conflicts with the new Radeon being in at the same time.
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 06:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Yeah ill probab;y remove it.
__________________

__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.