A question about RAM... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2004, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 52
Default A question about RAM...

Grr... I have purchased a motherboard http://usa.asus.com/products/mb/sock...0/overview.htm that states this-

DDR400 (PC3200) Support

DDR400 (PC3200), the latest and fastest DDR memory standard, supports bandwidth up to 3.2GB/s to provide enhanced system performance. (Note: PC2100/PC1600 up to 3 DIMMs; PC3200/PC2700 up to 2 DIMMs; 1GB PC3200/2700 with 32 DDR chips up to 1 DIMM only)

and also this-

3 DDR DIMM for DDR266/333/400 SDRAM modules, and memory size is expand up to 3GB

Now can somebody explain to me what this means? I have a 256mb SDRAM and a 128mb SDRAM card in my CPU right now, will these work with this motherboard?

Thanks for your help!

Blackecho is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258

What motherboard do you currently have that is using said ram? But I think the answer will probably ne No anyway...

Inaris is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 12:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 18

a question about RAM too ...

AMD ATHLON64 3000+ Processor
GigaByte GA-K8N Pro nForce3 Chipset 800FSB AGP8X w/LAN,USB2,IEEE,&Audio

Does this above run Dual Ram? and what Pc3200?
Flavor4real is offline  
Old 01-23-2004, 08:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

SDRAM is not supported on the P4S800.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 12:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205

sdram is no longer supported by new motherboards, it's too slow. PC3200 is 400 Mhz memory. PC 2100 is 266, 2700 is 333, get the picture? I'm not sure if the above MB's support dual channel memory, but if they do they will certainly SAY they do. If it doesn't say it is dual channel, it's proably not. Dual channel memory is great, more so in P4 systems than in AMD, but it requires you to have 2 sticks of memory with the same speed and MB size and will run them at the same timings. You will have to buy 2 sticks of identical memory if you want to run in dual channel. (dual channel doubles the bandwidth of the memory, basicly making it twice as fast.)
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.