question about ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2004, 04:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default question about ram

I have a few quickies...

Say I buy two different makes of ram, completely different designs, but the latencies, storage and stock speed are identical. Will they work together?

for example:
crucial 256mb DDR266 PC2100 2.5CL
kingston 256mb DDR266 PC2100 2.5CL

also, what do latencies mean? like 2-2-3-6 or whatever. I would like to get more knowledge about ram.
__________________

__________________
[root@root root]$ su
uchiha is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

yup, in this case they will, even wil support dual channel.

this case has become more sensitive on DDR's. else before that it wasnt the case. as i'm using different latency rams in my IBM Netvista PC100 and PC133. working great.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 05:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
yup, in this case they will, even wil support dual channel.
A mismatched pair of RAM will work together, but they won't run in Dual Channel together. If you do then consider yourself extremely lucky because generally it needs the EXACT design and architecture...and even sometimes when you buy one stick now and one stick down the road of the exact kind you got before, sometimes DC will still not work.

Quote:
also, what do latencies mean? like 2-2-3-6 or whatever. I would like to get more knowledge about ram.
I suggest you google that kind of information as that's a reall indepth question. Each number represents a cycle in which the RAM does a specific instruction. each cycle is in terms of nanoseconds, but nanoseconds build up....so the tighter the timings you have the faster the RAM will run. Loosening the timings allows for overclocking.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 05:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

I have runned 2 different DDR chips, same latencies, same clock on dual channel succesfully.

it is as well mentioned by many board manufacturers that 2 diff made BUT identical modules can run Dual Channel.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.