Question about partitions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2003, 05:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default Question about partitions

I have that P1 Dell Optiplex, and the HD is partitioned. I don't know how to un partition it. Everytime i try to download anything, it tells me i'm out of space. I"M NOT! it's just that the active partition IS full! How do I either change my active partition, or un partition the entire HD????
__________________

__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Old 09-12-2003, 06:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

how big is the HD? theres this program called partition magic 8 which allows you to partition you HD within windows. but generally you can repartition by reformatting the entire HD and reinstall...but this is not practical.

befor you repartition...backup all data....use the fdisk command...whats the OS in ur dell?
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 09-13-2003, 01:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

can't you d/l it to another partition?
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-13-2003, 04:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

you are getting these error messages because each drive must have a certain percentage of free space available or performance will degrade. i think the minimum free space required by windows is 15%-20%. i would only use partition magic to increase the operating system partition as a last resort. i have had that program corrupt my operating system many times. try deleting unneeded programs and files first. i'd try to get as much space free as possible.

and if that doesn't work you can have partition magic resize the drive that your operating system is installed on. it works like magic
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-15-2003, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

you should be able to tell it in the windows download dialog box what drive letter (partition or physical drive) you want it to D/L to, if youre trying to D/L it to My Documents, it will put it on the main drive
dethangel is offline  
Old 09-15-2003, 03:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default

Okay, first off... The HD size is 3.2GB and the OS is Win98. Um, I don't really care about saving the data on it. If I wan't it back, I can re-install it no problem. But it just angers me that I can't install/save anything on the main drive! I'll look into that magic thing...
Thanks for the help!
__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Old 09-15-2003, 09:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman
Default

Yup, Bell is right. Just do a fresh format. just once it boots to the command promt, or is it still DOS back for Win95? o well, ya and type FDISK on the promt and hit enter, folow the directions and delete all partitions and have one full sized one.

then install windows on it and what not.

i dont say i added anything, but ya this was the first acual post that i found i could talk about and know what iwas talking about since i joined this forum hehe. but it wont be the lat! lol
__________________

__________________
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.