Question about a new build with my current hard drive. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2006, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default Question about a new build with my current hard drive.

If I build a new computer but use my current hard drive will I have any problems? I’m asking because I have never done anything like that before and Imp not sure if it will cause problems.

Saint71 is offline  
Old 10-18-2006, 07:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 63

you shouldnt have ne issues with your old hdd in your new built pc

if u do post the problem here and i will or someone else will gladly help u out

Work (Hard) Every Day!!
15% Mondays
24% Tuesdays
36% Wednesdays
20% Thursdays
5% Fridays
diamond55 is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 03:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to perochak

No Prob.
perochak is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
baronvongogo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756

If its a complete rebuild so new motherboard etc, you will have to reinstall windows or at least try a windows repair. Apart from that it should be fine.
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 11:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

If it is your Windows disk you may have problems, but it often works without a re-install. Any other disk will work just fine.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71

Ok thanks for the help.
Saint71 is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 09:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 120

I don't think there will be any problems. I have done this because. However, if your new PC has a different video card or different components, you might be asked to install the new drivers.

ablaye is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.