A question about motherboard and RAM compatibility. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2004, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Default A question about motherboard and RAM compatibility.

I have an Abit Kx7 I got about 1 and half years ago and back then ram PC3200 wasn't even out yet. The mobo manual said it could use RAM up to PC2700. Does anyone know for sure if I can use a 512DDR PC3200 on my motherboard if I were to get it?
__________________

srohek is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 11:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to n_derr
Default

It will work, but not at 3200 speeds.
__________________

__________________
My PC:
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
512 MB 2700 (Soon to be 1gb PC 3200)
ATI Radeon 9500 Pro (Soon to be ATI Radeon AIW 9800 Pro)
n_derr is offline  
Old 04-21-2004, 11:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Ah I see so it will only utilize up to 2700 of the ram?
srohek is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 01:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

Yah thats correct it will roll back to the speeds it can handle and were tested with. Wich means it is a waste of your money. Now me i just bought pc 3200 ram even though my motherboad cant handle it so its rolled back i did this so in a couple months when i upgrade to a better motherboard it will use those speeds it supposed to. So it can be a waste of money and it can't be depends if you'r planning on upgrading later. And if you are you could have just saved yourself 100$.
raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 01:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

As long as ABIT states that a higher memory frequency can function with the board at the highest rated frequency can handle, then go for it, but I would rather stick with PC2700 instead, as PC3200 wouldn't provide too much of a noticeable benefit in your case. The reason I question this is because some motherboards can short out RAM modules if the frequency rating is higher than what the motherboard can handle. (e.g. the Intel CA810E that comes equipped with some Compaq Presario machines)
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 01:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

Aww well thats not good in my case i hope that hasnt happened lol.
__________________

raiden_nrl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.