Question about graphics card and power supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2005, 04:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default Question about graphics card and power supply

What is the voltage listed as for your graphics card, its hard to tell with the different letters, it doesnt really give a good description. also I'm not sure if I have the right plug connected to my 6800 gt.
__________________

stevedub is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 05:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Well, your card should have some with a molex adapter for it, probably with two connectors merging into one. Make sure both of those connectors have something plugged into them (preferably plugs from different strands, each with little else on them, ie dont go HDD+HDD+Vid card on a single string) and that the single connector that the two ones merge into is plugged securely into your card. As for the voltage, I have no idea.
__________________

__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 05:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

As long as you havent screwed around with the connectors on your power lines, and the connector actually fits into your vid card, you will be ok.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

if you have an AGP gfx card, you should plug in the 4 pin molex

if you have pci-e, plug in the 6 pin molex
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 07:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default

I have the pci-e card, in a lanparty n4 ultra. so I should use the one with the two sets of wires that come to the six plug molex? Because I have another six plug molex, with just one set of wires on it too.
stevedub is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.