Question about DIMM, - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2003, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default Question about DIMM,

I have a PC with one 32MB dimm module in it, It has a slot for another one, If I install another one does it also have to be a 32 or can I install a 64MB one with the 32. Will this make a noticable difference in the speed of the PC? It is really slow now. Tom

Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 09:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
kboy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041

Need a little more info dude, What's yer Spec's on your Box? And no, DIMM's don't have to be Installed in Pairs. Ya must be using the 168 Pin DIMM SDRAM.

ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX

1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 01:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

32 MB DIMM in a motherboard w/ 2 slots - possible clues to a first-generation motherboard with DIMM (SDR) support.

You can install another module with a different amount of memory, as long as you don't exceed the maximum supported by the motherboard.
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 11-17-2003, 10:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman

Tom, you can install multiple dimm modules in your board, they DO NOT have to be the same and DO NOT have to be in pairs to fil a bank.

and if you have a 32 meg and install an additional 64, you probably wont notice a huge diffence in quality, why not pick up a stick of 512 DIMM, they are pretty cheap rightnowand will onnly get cheaper.

Have a great DAy
WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.