question about cpu's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2005, 11:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default question about cpu's

what would a good AMD be out now and days.. i think i found the problem to my FPS.. my buddys have worse graphic cards then i do, but there game runs better.. I am running a

AMD 2500+ (1.8ghz)
1gb pc2700 ddr
GeForce FX 5500 OC 256mb
40gb hd
ASUS a7n8x delux

My pal has a GeForce 2 Ultra 64mb PCI, but he also has a Pentium 4 2.8 ghz and he doesnt lag with Final Fantasy 11..

Any opinions?

I have updated everything in my system right now, so by process of elimination i have a feeling its my cpu..
__________________

truck_goes_vrom is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default

the Athlon 64 FX-55 check more at newegg.com
__________________

__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 11:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

would my Mobo be able to handle that type of cpu?
truck_goes_vrom is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 11:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Geezzz...... Sorry, truck_goes_vrom sometimes people just post some very stupid things that dont help anything.

First, your mobo will not be able to support a FX. Another thing, those processor are around 800$ USA Currency. I dont know how much money you have to spend, nor if you want to upgrade or a howl new system.

That video card you have is pretty old, along with that processor. Your main problem is the video card. Second is the processor. For gaming AMD64 are the best you can get your hands on.

I suggest a new system. I recommend a socket 939 mobo, with a AMD64 3200. Dont for get your AMD64 will have to be a socket 939 3200. Thats what i think, if you want a new system. I will go further.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Well i had a Radeon 9500 pro 128mb, would that work any better? could you also tell me a decently priced system i could get now and days?
truck_goes_vrom is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 12:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Default

Had? As in not no more? There probally about the same...

First...


How much do you have to spend?
OCgod* is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 12:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Well, it depends on the games. That Radeon 9500 pro 128mb should be able to play most games with a good processor. Still their are alot better video cards out there, that would make it less stressful on your system. But for striaght gaming, your going to need a way better video card.

http://www.ibuypower.com/mall/lobby.htm
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 12:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Default

Yes, I Suggest atleast a 6600 GT for moderate gameplay
__________________

OCgod* is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.