question about cooling - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2005, 11:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Exclamation question about cooling

ok i've been wanting to put an exhaust fan on the top of my case and i was digging around in my computer junk pile and came across an old psu was wondering if i could use the fan from that and mount it ontop of the case?
__________________

z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 11:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Lol, good luck with that. No, you can't do that, and if you were, you would have to run it with the power supply... it's really not a good idea... you know... two power supply's and all. Just buy a case fan and save yourself the breath.
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 11:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah you could, as long as you found a connector attatched to the fan, or a spare connector.

The fan is most likely soldered into the power supply, which means murdering an adapter and than putting the new end on.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 11:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

And why couldn't he do that? I've taken a few fans out of PSU's and used them as normal fans. They generally just have a 2pin connector instead of a 3pin, but if you have an old 3pin connector around it's not hard to splice it.

It's completely possible dude...just make sure that thing hasn't been used in a while, because capacitors can hold energy and wouldn't want you getting shocked
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 11:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I get shocked soo much, i barely feel it anymore

My dad claims to have fixed my lighting

I touch it, i still get shocked
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

no it wasn't soldered or anything i already have it out of the case and everything and it is a 2 pin connector dunno how much it will actually cool down but lol worth a shot i guess if it don't work good i'll just hook up a blower motor for a furnace haha
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 01:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

question can't i just put the 2 pin connector on a 3 pin male end? or will it mess with stuff?
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 04:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

bump :-)
__________________

__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.