Question about comp build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2004, 01:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 75
Default Question about comp build

If i dont have a graphics card yet and im using an asus a7n8x motherboard that doesnt have onboard video... i havent got the pieces yet but there coming in the mail... if i put it all together can i still use the computer without playing any games untill a week later i can afford and purchase a good graphics card...... or will i not be able to use the system all together ??? without a graphics card..... i mean can i still load the os on it and use it to surf the net untill i get one ??


thanks, Eric
__________________

SureShot is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 03:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

If you don’t have an AGP/PCI video card, or an onboard graphics array, there will not be anywhere to plug the monitor in.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 12:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 75
Default

well does the asus a7n8x have a place to plug the monitor in ???
SureShot is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 12:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

No because it has no onboard video like you said.
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 12:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 75
Default

so you couldnt have dual monitor with that ???
SureShot is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 12:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Your monitor support is in your video card. Without a video card or onboard video, you can't use one monitor much less two.

Dual monitors will depend on your video card, so when you do buy one, if you want dual monitors, make sure that the card supports it.
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Closed Thread

« Harddrive | agp 4x »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.