Question about BIOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2010, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 48
Lightbulb Question about BIOS

I'm trying to learn more about computers so I believe i'll be asking some question.

One question that I was wondering about is that, what does the BIOS do in a computer. I opened up the other day on my computer and there was a lot of things there. So whats the point of it? Thanks
__________________

Mario Eats BK is offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Question about BIOS

It is basically your mobos operating system. Through it all the parts work/comunicate with each other. It stands for Basic Input/Output Screen. Originally computers had no hard drives to have an operating system run it.

It also allows for the changing of things associated with the the parts, like the speedc of the processor, ram and how much power to put in them.

Thats a very vague description but just google it for exact answer.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-24-2010, 07:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Question about BIOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
It stands for Basic Input/Output Screen.
System
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 12-24-2010, 12:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Question about BIOS

Oops yha i knew that, but guess i musta seen screen as i was typing.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 10:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 71
Default Re: Question about BIOS

Quote:
It is basically your mobos operating system. Through it all the parts work/comunicate with each other. It stands for Basic Input/Output (System). Originally computers had no hard drives to have an operating system run it.
To expand upon this; The BIOS reads and initializes all of your systems devices and gives you an essential bit of control over your system. The BIOS is static, meaning it never changes and should always work unless your hardware fails. Which is why you should be extra careful when flashing/updating a BIOS. The most important role it plays after all of this is to boot up your operating system. The BIOS can boot an OS from any number of devices, HDDs, optical drives, floppies, USB drives. From that point on the OS takes over and you don't really see or interact with your BIOS.
MrMarcDee is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 10:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Question about BIOS

Actually, BIOS does run with your OS. It controls your bus speed. That is how it manages Cool n Quiet, OCs, and so on.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 11:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 71
Default Re: Question about BIOS

Right. Sorry, bad wording. After the OS loads the BIOS is taken out of the picture as far as the user is concerned until next reboot.
MrMarcDee is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 11:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Question about BIOS

BIOS never stops running. It runs until the computer is shut down. It controls your every device.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DK P35 Bios Question. Peter.Cort Overclocking and Modding 1 07-19-2008 12:40 PM
BIOS Question allan16 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 29 09-28-2005 07:18 PM
BIOs question GuitarFreak1857 Overclocking and Modding 17 08-26-2005 03:46 PM
Bios question Mandingo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 05-14-2005 06:54 PM
bios question Jesse the Body Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 03-15-2005 07:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.