Question about AMD - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2004, 02:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

No, you don't have to download Win64 beta. XP Pro and Home work on Athlon 64's just as well as they do on 32-bit processors. Anyway, go with an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ with the Asus K8V SE Deluxe mobo. You will be glad you did.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 02:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

I don't know much about AMD's either... Whats the diffeence between 32-bit and 64-bit?
__________________

__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 02:23 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

64-bit can process twice as much data in the address bus at the same time. They can also access much more memory. Right now, without a true 64-bit version of Windows, we can't take advantage of this. The main reason for the Athlon 64 right now is the large L2 cache and the 1600MHz FSB. When 64-bit Windows and games start to hit, we will notice a major improvement.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 11:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

think of it as a "scoop"...right now there are two major sizes of "scoops" (32 and 64 bits) because the programs can only support 32 bits right now the 32 "scoop" is full every time it grabs information and the 64 bit "scoop" is only half full. what beedubaya was saying is that once the OS and games start utilizing the full 64 bits is when the speed will start to increase...I liked that explanation anyway...

-Aaron
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 12:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 10
Default

What about a fx-53 to a 3800. Is the fx-53 better or is it not worth it?
Fatboyz is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 12:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

get an intel pentium prescott 3.4 or higher, screw AMD.
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 02:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

AMD eats Prescotts. Screw that ****, get Northwood 3.2 or higher.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 04:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

I don't want to be a Negative Nancy, but people shouldn't butt-in on an AMD conversation with Intel reccamendations. It's almost as bad as a Mac person putting down PCs in a PC reccamendation thread.

Theres other threads for that. Don't waste valueable page space with negative comments that don't even apply to the thread. I see this every day and it's getting quite annoying. I'm just saying people need to go "pillage and convert" in a 1-mfg vs 1-mfg thread, not this one.



T-anks.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 05:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WQ87
AMD eats Prescotts. Screw that ****, get Northwood 3.2 or higher.
The Northwood line has stopped at 3.4ghz and I suggest we stop this useless bickering aswell
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 05:44 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default



Is the new prescott any better? Like it doesn't overheat like crazy?

Anyways, back on topic, the FX-53 is quite pricey.
__________________

WQ87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.