Question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2005, 07:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Jin Uzuki
Default Question.

I'm not sure if this is the correct forum, but,I have a DVD Recorder, and I was wondering if it were possible to hook up my computer to my DVD Recorder so I can record downloaded movies onto DVD since my comp is to old to run a DVD burner? I do not have RCA or S-Video on my HD. Thanks in advance.

Jin Uzuki is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 11:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955

I dunno about downloading to it, but you can download to your computer, then save it to your recorder (I think).

It would be like setting up your recorder as an external DVD burner.

Google and see if you can find a converter for VGA to RGB, RCA, or S-video.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to Jin Uzuki

Thanks I'll try in the mean time
Jin Uzuki is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 10:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to MikeyE

Yea, looks like this would require a new video card with s-video or perhaps a tv tuner card with the proper outputs. Without something like that I don't believe it's possible to do what you would like to do.
A+ Hardware/OS whoop dee doo
MikeyE is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 08:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

are u asking if u can burn dvds with ur dvd recorder? i dont think it would be possible i beleive u are taslking about somehting like a sony handicam, like a video camera but copies to dvd. i dont think it will allow u to but u can google and see
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.