Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2005, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default Question

Would a:

AMD Sempron 2400
MSI 32 Bit Motherboard
512 DDR RAM

Be Worth $375 Brand new?

Or am I getting ripped...?
__________________

AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 06:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

? anyone ?
__________________

AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

what model is the motherboard? what is the manufacturer of the ram?

is it $375 american?
ChipX is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 06:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

I would have to say that is a ripoff,i can get a P4 2.8 with an asus p4p800e-dlx for cheaper than that and i'm paying canadian.In this link http://www.cedgec.com/Special.htm they have a Biostar M7VIG400mb with a sempron 2200 for only $129 and if you add 512mb ram you are still only paying $229 and that's canadian.
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 07:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Even without knowing exact motherboard specifications or specific RAM type that seems like a rip.

Semprons suck, they are durons replacement, = low end non heavy number crunching CPU


And I doubt it's High performance RAM, so yeah if you haven't bought it then don't, it's worthless. We could get you much better CPU, mobo, and 512mb RAM for that price.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 07:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Sempron + High Performance RAM don't mix period. You are getting ripped. I agree with Nubius.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 10:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

Thanks guys for your input, now I goto go get my 200 down payment back.
__________________

AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.