Question on 2gb of ram. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2005, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Question on 2gb of ram.

Okay now I've heard a bunch of times that running more than 1gb of ram is not neccasary unless you are running some high end programs. I've also heard a lot of people say that running 4*512mb of ram would actually be slower in things like internet explorer because of the memory being split 4 ways.

So I was wondering would programs like internet explorer still run slower if you did 2*1gb? Would that be better than running 4*512mb if they were the same latancy and speed?

Just wondering.

dario03 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976

Personally, for general gaming purposes I'd swear by having 2GB of system RAM. Although with 4x 512MB, overclocking is tricky if not impossible. Whenever I'm going to do a serious overclock/try and beat my 3DMark 05 score, I just take the 1 GB out

Don't know about the IE thing though, if anyone wants to clarify this I'll have leaned something new today

Either way, if you want to get 2GB of RAM, get two 1GB sticks.

AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 08:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to hybrid g0d

doom: agreed.
hybrid g0d is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 08:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

Well, i sure if you want the best answer, you should wait until nubius responds. He truely knows his stuff in the world of ram.

But, IMO - I swear by (4) by 512MB. If your not Overclocking, which i tend not to do. The more RAM the better off you are. (non-OCing)

Recently, i lost the 1st DIMM channel on my motherboard, which left me with only 1gig of RAM -from- 2gig. My system was running at about 25% with 2gig at desktop. Now, it's obviously running at 50%. Fire up BF2, DOOM 3, FAR CRY etc... We're taling 85%-90% usage. Performance is horrible.

Sure I could reconfigure what Programs I have running in the background... True.

Anyway... I've bought a new MOBO, and will rebuild tonight... So i'll be back to my 2giggers with-in hours..
HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.