Ques: What kind of ram does my laptop need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2005, 01:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to drindahowse
Default Ques: What kind of ram does my laptop need?

hi, i have this laptop:

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...135&pfp=SEARCH

and i wanted to know what kind of ram i need for it, i want to get 2 512mb cards for it because thats what the guy at the computer store told me but i want to get them on ebay for cheaper but i dont know what to search for because im a little confused. what i got out of it, is that i need a "pc2700 ddr sdram" am i right? what do i need to search on ebay to get what i need. and one more question...since i need DDR ram that means i need to have 2 of the same size ram to get the best performance right? but do the 2 ram cards have to be the same brand? or can they be 2 different brands to work right. if you can help me out that would be great, THANKS!!!
__________________

drindahowse is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 02:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

look for DDR SODIMM. it is the same as what's on the desktop, but smaller. it must be SODIMM, or it won't fit
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 02:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Yes you need 2700 ddr ram
Yes for best performance they would have to be the same size modules
No, they don't have to be the same brand.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 02:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

actually, you don't need PC2700 RAM, you can get higher, or lower, depending on what you can get it's HTT (communication speed between CPU and RAM) to. I'd recommend PC3200

although if you want to mix it with PC2700 RAM, you can either run the PC3200 stick at PC2700 (166*2) or see if your PC2700 stick can be overclocked to PC3200. you might need to alter the timings (latencies of the RAM. how long it takes to respond)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 02:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

definitely needs to be SODIMM.
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.