q6600 wierd core speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-29-2008, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 15
Default q6600 wierd core speed

i was messing around with my q6600 in bios trying to overclock it. and i did i got it up to 3 ghz. but i decided to be safe and turn it down to 2.8 then back down to normal. but not in CPUZ in core speed it says 1600 mhz? and jumps up to 2400 mhz then back down. why?

fourtrax is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 wierd core speed

CPU Speed Changing? Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

Ste is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: q6600 wierd core speed

what wow very cool. thanks should have searched.
fourtrax is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 11:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: q6600 wierd core speed

Everytime someone says the CPU is changing speeds on its own, I think of SpeedStep.

My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 11:23 AM
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high. Disillusion Overclocking and Modding 19 03-03-2008 12:13 PM
Q6600 Different Core Temps mnelson07 Overclocking and Modding 7 10-11-2007 09:27 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 06:36 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 12:41 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.