q6600 vs other quads - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2009, 04:29 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: q6600 vs other quads

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
^ correct mine has 3mb per 2 cores or 1.5mb per core.
The 3MB is shared between two cores

So, one core can use up to 3MB cache
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 04:52 AM   #12 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: q6600 vs other quads

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
The 3MB is shared between two cores

So, one core can use up to 3MB cache
Which means the other core gets to use 0MB cache.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 12:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: q6600 vs other quads

AMDs are true quads... or tris...
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 03:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: q6600 vs other quads

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenenbaum View Post
See, I didn't know of any this.
Where can I go about learning all this?
Is there a book on the latest technology with brief explanations like this?

Sorry for thread jacking, but it was already answered, and its relevant
Actually, no, there's not a book. Unfortunately.

Most of this information is distilled from press releases, news articles, blogs, and informed posts. That's not a lot of help, I know, but that's the size of it. Your best bet to start getting "up to speed" would be to start following and digging in some good sources.

I use DailyRotation (DAILY ROTATION) as my source. DR is an aggregate news source, with feeds from over 300 sources. Choose the number of headlines you want (I use 100), and the specific source headlines, and away you go.

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 06:43 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 103
Default Re: q6600 vs other quads

This will also help you on what your look for Tenen.

Intel Core 2 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Has a plethora of information on Core 2 Duo CPUs and some info on Core i7 as well.

I felt very informed and a bit more upto date after reading it myself.
PuRpLeSmUrF is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 11:20 PM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: q6600 vs other quads

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Which means the other core gets to use 0MB cache.
that doesnt matter. the cpu will assign processes cache space as they need them. how much cache a program uses is not dependent on the cpu. its dependent on the program.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
intel Q6600 Batch List thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 86 10-03-2008 01:01 AM
bad batch q6600? nukeman8 New Systems | Building and Buying 49 09-04-2008 11:42 AM
E8400 vs Q6600 Joeyboy New Systems | Building and Buying 16 09-03-2008 02:37 PM
G0 Revision Q6600? Help... g3kk0 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-24-2008 01:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.