Putting together a computer - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2005, 09:59 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

when i get on my other computer i'll give you a great site for building, wait you can chekc the websites post
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 12:06 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Does anyone know what SLI does because i really don't. and what model of the DFI Lanparty should i get for an AMD Athlon 3200+ Venice with socet 939. ?
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 01:35 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Default

SLI is two graphics cards at once. The motherboard will have two 16x PCIe slots. So getting an SLI card but only using one graphic card is a waste of money.
Brently is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 01:37 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Default

http://www.slizone.com/content/slizone/learn.html
Brently is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:40 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

ok, but don't all of the DFI Lanparty mobos have SLI?, cause the 6800GT has it ready. and if i had another vid card could i hook two up to one monitor?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 12:23 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

yes but only if it was a 6800gt, and the DFIs only come with SLI im pretty sure, so in a year or two when the 6800gt starts looking slow you can just pop in another 6800gt... or not even, the DFI mobos are just the best even if you never use the other slot
GageMW is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:41 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

so would it really matter if i only used one of the PCI-E ports for the 6800GT? i mean i don't need insane performance right now. and another thing. would it be worth it to upgrade from CPU A to B

A) AMD Athlon 64 2.0GHz 3200+ Venice $203.00

B) AMD Athlon 64 2.4GHz 3800+ Venice $373.99

My vote is B
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:53 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

ok, i'm really confused what model of the damn lanparty i should get. definatly the nF4 but which one... and what is an ATX 2.0 compliant PSU?? DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR nForce4 SLI Athlon 64. look that up in zipzoomfly.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 11:13 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

1.) ATX2.0 complaint = 24pin PSU=what you should be getting (good choice is OCZ powerstream series [i see ur getting a powerstream 600w])
2.) the SLI doesn't have all the extra cables the SLI-DR has
3.) there's almost no different between the 3200+ and 3800+, just get the 3200 and save up for a newer gfx card in the future
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 01:54 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

ok so just stick with the setup in the thing below then?
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.