PSU Underpowered? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2004, 11:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default PSU Underpowered?

Hello everyone!
This is my first post on this forum so please; be gentle with me!
Anyway I was just wanting an expert view on this;
I have a 300W PSU and I want to know if this is sufficient for the following system spec which I have:

Windows XP Pro OS
Asrock K7S8X Motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 3000+ CPU running at 2100MHz (400MHz fsb)
40Gb 7200RPM HDD
ATI Radeon 9200 256MB AGP Graphics card
External Broadband Modem
52X CD-ROM
Phillips DVD-RW

Any help would be highly appreciated,

Regards,

Andrew Minckley
__________________

AndyMinx is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 11:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

Here is the way I look at it, does the computer function fine? If it does then it is probably enough power
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 12:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

300 is probably good enough for that setup but in the future when you upgrade to a newer video card you are going to want to get something in the 400 or 500 wattage range
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 12:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Yea it work fine but It was mentioned on another foum once that I may not have enough power. In that case, how much can I upgrade withough needing a new PSU?

Regards,

Andrew
AndyMinx is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

It's hard to say exactly.

Which brings me to my own question: How would your computer react to not enough power, or low power? I've always wondered that myself.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 01:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Thats a good question, and one I was alos goin to ask as well?

Andy
AndyMinx is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 03:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

probaby crashing. due to the inability to supply the power to what needs it at the time it would probably cause your system to crash
__________________

__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.