PSU recomendations - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2005, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default PSU recomendations

I have a DFI Lanparty Ultra-D, 3200+ venice, 1 80 GIG harddrive,2x 512 MEG Twinmos ram, ATi x300 se Hypermemory VGA and 3 USB that takes Power. I need a 24 PIN PSU for around 100 USD anyone got any suggestions.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

With the twinmos in there you're gonna need at least a 520w powerstream. You can try pulling off that little DIMM jumper mod floating around though if you can't afford something that big.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

but isn't the powerstream 20 pin?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

it sure is best not to skimp when it comes to psus. Better to pay more and get the better one than to buy a cheapy and hurt your more expensive parts.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

nvm it is 24 pin is there another one just as good same price without a LED?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Will raising memory voltage to 3.3 increase power supply needs by that much? I'm pretty sure that a 350 watt power supply can handle an a64,6600gt,2hds,cd/dvd,and 4 fans just fine.(no overclock though)
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

DFI recommends a minimum of 480watts for the lanparties just for stability reasons running at stock speeds, of course you can get away with less but better safe that sorry.

The problem with the DFI JP17 is the fact that is switches from the 3.3v rail to the 5v rail and leads to increased instability. Of course there is the jumper mod I was talking up which keeps the vDIMM specifically on the 3.3v which reduces all these risks and I would recommend doing if you are setting the jumper to 2-3.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

where can I find this mod?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10830
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

ok now is there one PSU like the Powerstream same price or cheaper without the LED or is there an on/off button for that?
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.