PSU Question (Precott Processor random reboots) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2005, 10:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default PSU Question (Precott Processor random reboots)

I just finished building my computer, and I noticed that I could not boot when I used my Radeon 9800 installed. When I used my 9600 (9600 does not have an additional 12v power input) it boots and runs fine. The 9800 is fine since i can pop it into my other computer and it boots right up.

Now my question is this, how can I check to see if my current PSU (350W) is enough to run all the stuff on my computer? I'm also getting random reboots sometimes. I'm thinking that perhaps the drain on the 12v might be too high or something, since I heard precotts are MAJOR power drainers.

Any help is Appriciated!!!
__________________

chemosh is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 10:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

What are you full computer specs?
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

also, If you have a splitter on the cable, dont use the other power connector for the harddrive.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 11:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Sorry, I probably should have posted the specs

Mobo - ASRock P4V88
CPU - P4 3.0 Prescott
Video - Radeon 9800 Pro
RAM - Two sticks (1 gig) 333
Storage - Two 80 Gig WD 8 Meg Cache
PCI SB Live

Thats about it, the random reboots might be from a driver conflict...I turned it off in my comp/properties/advanced and it hasn't done a hard reboot since, so maybe that problem is solved, but the Vid Card still wont work.

That site says I should need about 300 Watts, but i noticed in bios that my +3.3 is running at about +2.9, a little under what it should be. I also have 4 case fans and the CPU/vid card fans (not on the 9600 but the 9800)
chemosh is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 11:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Also, I'm not running any splitters and I checked the 12v on the floppy so that wire isn't dead.
chemosh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.