PSU Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 03:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You can use a 20 pin ATX connector on a DFI board dude, OPPAINTER uses one and has held some very high overclocks. Obviously it would be best to avoud it, but if you can't, it's not the end of the world with the proper precautions.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 03:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

what PSU is he using?
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 04:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
You can use a 20 pin ATX connector on a DFI board dude, OPPAINTER uses one and has held some very high overclocks. Obviously it would be best to avoud it, but if you can't, it's not the end of the world with the proper precautions.
Sorry, but you are incorrect.
http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7619
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 04:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I know some very highly reputable people who use 20 pin power supplies in DFI nF4 boards, and they work fine. As I say, I recommend using a 24 pin PSU whenever possible, but if you can't, you can still get by on a 20 pin PSU.

Infact, this jumper mod was made specifically for relieving BH-5s users of the 5v rail load who are using 20 pin power supplies. I know that every one on dfi-street will say the opposite, but there are a lot of people over there who are quite full of themselves and believe that a fan qualifies as passive cooling.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 04:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I use a 20 pin PSU on my MSI K8n Neo4-F nForce4 mobo, and i managed to reach 2.5ghz on air (im using a winnie). then my temps got scary so i backed down to stock.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 04:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 86
Default

So the Antec Powersmart will work right?
__________________

__________________
man these peas ROCK!
Kray is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.