PSU question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2005, 08:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

raidmax sucks

their cases are ugly aswell
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 100
Default

Antec true 550w!! ima get a used one of those, someone plz tell me what i needa know when installing it and taking out the old one. i dont wnana blow anythin up and ima nub
__________________

misterfatal is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

uhm, use common sense? and if that doesnt work. get a bigger hammer
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you won't need 550W
I'd say either the Antec 480W or the Enermax 470W will do you fine, you don't need 550W
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 100
Default

well i found a 550W slightly used for 70 dollers, is there anything i should know when installing this? i dont wanna blow my mother board or something stupid.
misterfatal is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 04:15 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

Read the manual completely, more than once. The
PSU and motherboard manuals.

Dont plug anything into the wall until you know
everything is correct-double check.

Before you put the PSU in the case, hold it in your
hands and know what all the connectors are for
and where they go on your motherboard, drives etc.

Double check the PSU voltage switch on the back of the
PSU to make sure its set for your part of the world.
Mine is set for (115V-USA) and not (230V-EU)........

Take your time and dont lick your power supply when
its plugged in.

By the way. Dont buy a used power supply. Save up
and get a new one if you can.

350 watts used to be the norm, but IMO, 500 should
be the new norm for the PSU.
__________________

ImUseless is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.