PSU question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2004, 12:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to r1y23
Default PSU question

Quick question, there is a switch on the back of my psu that has 3 modes what does this do?
__________________

__________________
MY RIG:
AMD X2 3800+
1.5 GB RAM
Radeon X600 AIW 256 mb
2 80gb sata HDD (striped)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Sony Internal 16X DVD+R / duel layer
Creative audigy zs 2 gamer
Floppy drive (black)
Gigabyte GH-PCU21 cooling fan
--Kingwin KT-424-S-WM Silver Aluminum Case--
r1y23 is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to gabe
Default

Different voltage settings, you can reduce and increase at will.
__________________

__________________
<b>My advise is my property. Use it at own risk.</b>
gabe is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 112
Default

Do you know the make and model of the PSU?
__________________
Jeff Cline
MYTHLOGIC Corporation
Custom. Gaming. Computers.
<a href=\"http://www.mythlogic.com\">http://www.mythlogic.com</a>
jcline is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 07:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to r1y23
Default

so increasing the voltage wont effect the system?
__________________
MY RIG:
AMD X2 3800+
1.5 GB RAM
Radeon X600 AIW 256 mb
2 80gb sata HDD (striped)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Sony Internal 16X DVD+R / duel layer
Creative audigy zs 2 gamer
Floppy drive (black)
Gigabyte GH-PCU21 cooling fan
--Kingwin KT-424-S-WM Silver Aluminum Case--
r1y23 is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yes increasing the voltage WILL effect the system. I'm pretty sure the thing you are referring to is the voltage regulator depending on what country you are from. In the US we use 110Volts through our socket whereas europe has like 220V.....both of those numbers are probably wrong but I'm just saying Europes voltage through the sockets is like twice ours, so when in europe you have to flip that switch so your PSU can accomedate for the correct power running through it.

EDIT: Probably why you won't find any computer websites in the US that sell to the UK or places like that...because they know too many people would forget about that little switch and fux up their comp
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.