PSU question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2007, 03:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to venividivici Send a message via Yahoo to venividivici
Default PSU question...

Recently I tried installing an ATI Radeon X1800xt 512mb video card in an HP media centre TV PC. What I didn't realize was that the PSU in the computer was a crappy 300w. I blew the fan in the PSU, however everything else still works fine.

My question is what should I look at getting watt wise on a PSU? I have a 450w in an old computer that I could grab, however I am not sure if that would be sufficient.

I would like to be able to use the video card now for the interim until I can get a new PSU. So would the 450w PSU suffice to allow me to use the card?

CPU: Intel C2D E6300 1.86ghz
RAM: 2gb PC4200 DDR2

The mobo is an ASUS, not sure of model.

The computer itself is an HP Pavilion Media Centre TV PC model M7650N.

I need the video card in order to have WoW: tBC run smoothly, so I am sort of desparate at the moment.

venividivici is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 08:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044

Depends on the amps on the +12v rails. Can you tell us, the brand and model of your PSU?



b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 12:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to venividivici Send a message via Yahoo to venividivici

I appreciate the response, however I was able to find out by actually trying it out that it was not powerful enough as the computer would seem to boot up or at least power up, but nothing would appear on the screen.

So I have just decided to return the premade hunk of junk and build my new rig as I had intended to but just got impatient.

Ordered all the parts yesterday, hopefully they should arrive sometime this week. Only glitch is that the case I wanted was out of stock so who knows how long before they will be able to get that.

The PSU though was a High Power by Sirtec...someone on another computer forum said they website looked like it was "designed liked a high school student project", and that it was misleading.
venividivici is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 10:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
baronvongogo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756

check the sticky in this forum:

it explains a lot about the misconceptions about PSU`s and what to look for.
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.