PSU question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2007, 04:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to venividivici Send a message via Yahoo to venividivici
Default PSU question...

Recently I tried installing an ATI Radeon X1800xt 512mb video card in an HP media centre TV PC. What I didn't realize was that the PSU in the computer was a crappy 300w. I blew the fan in the PSU, however everything else still works fine.

My question is what should I look at getting watt wise on a PSU? I have a 450w in an old computer that I could grab, however I am not sure if that would be sufficient.

I would like to be able to use the video card now for the interim until I can get a new PSU. So would the 450w PSU suffice to allow me to use the card?

CPU: Intel C2D E6300 1.86ghz
RAM: 2gb PC4200 DDR2

The mobo is an ASUS, not sure of model.

The computer itself is an HP Pavilion Media Centre TV PC model M7650N.

I need the video card in order to have WoW: tBC run smoothly, so I am sort of desparate at the moment.
__________________

venividivici is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 09:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Depends on the amps on the +12v rails. Can you tell us, the brand and model of your PSU?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to venividivici Send a message via Yahoo to venividivici
Default

I appreciate the response, however I was able to find out by actually trying it out that it was not powerful enough as the computer would seem to boot up or at least power up, but nothing would appear on the screen.

So I have just decided to return the premade hunk of junk and build my new rig as I had intended to but just got impatient.

Ordered all the parts yesterday, hopefully they should arrive sometime this week. Only glitch is that the case I wanted was out of stock so who knows how long before they will be able to get that.

The PSU though was a High Power by Sirtec...someone on another computer forum said they website looked like it was "designed liked a high school student project", and that it was misleading.
venividivici is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 11:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

check the sticky in this forum:
http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=131824

it explains a lot about the misconceptions about PSU`s and what to look for.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.