psu problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2005, 08:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lester8908
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148001

What about that one. My case has no hole for top fan on psu
That's a nice power supply,My buddy has one and he has it just loaded down with stuff,He hasn't had any problem's with it yet.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 10:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to lester8908
Default

I really like the Xconnect so i think i am going to get that one. Any objections?
__________________

lester8908 is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 11:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well the X-CONNECT looks nice and is modular, but the internals are crappy.

This
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153007

Or This are your best bets
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153006
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 02:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

About the X-Connect: i know people here have bashed it, but i have it, and i think its great. hasnt failed on me yet. Anyway, the thermaltakes are better value.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 02:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Here we go... If you never wanna have problems with a PSU again. Go ahead and buy this one:

http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...php?show=T42DX

Everyone here will tell you it's the best company in power supplies. You pay for it, but the internals of these PSU's are the best of the best...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 02:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

its also $135 when the perfectly good thermaltake is only $55
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 03:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's a much better power supply, but Havok likes recomending it all the time because it's th e best

Thermaltake is very good and best value

Hence why Havok is now on my list...

EDIT: Thermaltake are a good powersupply and much closer to the super high end ones than the mid ones, but everything on the PC power and cooling site is true.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 04:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I know its the best, but i personally cant spend that much on a PSU. hence thermaltake/antec/ultra
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 05:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah but cut ultra out of the equation
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 07:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

lol, ive got an X-Connect. Never even blinks. idn, maybe it will die on me eventually, but ATM, im content. i like it alot
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.