psu problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2005, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to lester8908
Default psu problems

I am running a computer with a 2.8 p4 with ht, 9600 pro, audigy sb 2, 120 gig hard drive, dvd and cd drive. with a 350 watt power supply. I recently installed 2 new antec tornados. They suck alot of power and i could hear the psu making a pulsing noise. I didnt really think anything about it til my computer randomly crashed several times. So i unplugged one of the fans and the pulsing noise stopped so i thought my problems were solved but then my computer crashed again. What is causing this and can it be fixed.
__________________

lester8908 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Get a better PSU, with more amperage and like another 200 watts lol
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to lester8908
Default

So thats all it will take to fix my problem?
lester8908 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Try to get 18 or more AMPS on the 12v Rail and make sure that its a trusted brand name. And has enough wattage. Plus post here before you buy.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to lester8908
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148001

What about that one. My case has no hole for top fan on psu
lester8908 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Gah that's a no name

It's a bottom whole, and the PSU's with bottom holes fit into any ATX case (and you have an ATX case \ mobo)
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Yea it has 34amps on the 12v rail, but let other members give some advice to.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to lester8908
Default

oh lol then ill find a different one
lester8908 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to lester8908
Default

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...876412&CatId=0

???????
lester8908 is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 08:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I have that PSU, i like it alot. however, other people here might object.

Try this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153007
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.