PSU or Motherboard? OR both? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 03:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default PSU or Motherboard? OR both?

Hi, I hope someone can shed a little light on this problem. I built my own system over the weekend and was very happy that it started up and was able to load my games, software etc. After 2 days I came to turn it on and as soon as I pushed the power button I heard a pop noise from the rear of the computer and nothing appeared on the screen. PSU, Graphics and motherboard fans are all spinning round fine. I have power to my CD Rom etc. Does anybody know what may be the problem?

I have an Asus A8N Sli with AMD 3500 CPU. I have a XG Viper case and it came with a 500W PSU.

Any ideas would be great. Thanks
__________________

baconboy007 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Power supply may have went. Just because fans spin dont mean anything. Hook up another one that is known good to rule it out. Thats where I would start.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, I will try and get hold of another PSU and see what happens from there? Is there any chance of the motherboard or CPU being damaged?
baconboy007 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I know its not something you want to hear but there is always that possibility. If the PSU went, it could of taken other components with it. I'm sure it will be fine though.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your help,

Will do as you suggested.
baconboy007 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.