PSU Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2006, 01:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default PSU Help

I was planning on making a computer into a very small case, and have run into a problem. The only way to have a motherboard fit correctly would be to have an external power supply. I've checked out Newegg, and their only external PSU is nearly $200.

Would it be unsafe to buy an internal PSU and just use it outside the case? Do they sell extension cables that would reach the internal parts from a slight distance away?

Thanks for your help.
__________________

trekkie00 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

deifntly not the only way , it cant be that small , im sure theres psus that will fit to it fine , what case is it exactly?
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 04:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default

It's an old Mac computer (Centris 610) that I was planning on gutting and installing new hardware in. The case is only about three inches high, and would not hold an ATX or microATX motherboard with most power supplies.
__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 06:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

i guess that explains it i tought its a pc case , i wouldnt bother with it just buy a new one , if you alredy got a good psu it wouldnt cost much
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default

The only spare PSU I have is from a old computer, and it's just too large to fit into the case (less than an inch). I've checked on Newegg.com, and they don't say the dimensions of their PSUs.

Building the comp would be a project for me -- I think it would look pretty neat to have a nice gaming comp in a case made for a comp in 1993. Otherwise, I would just buy a new case.
__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.