psu good enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2005, 10:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default psu good enough?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-154&depa=0

is that psu good enough to power...

DFI Lanparty nf4 sli mobo
1gb (512x2) kingston hyperx ram
evga 6800gt video card
160gb 7200rpm wd hard drive
two cd drives
amd athlon 64 3200+ processor
thermaltake venus 12 heatsink
a few fans

and anything else if i forgot a basic part.
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 10:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Havent heard of that brand, but the wattage is enough for your setup. Any reason you are considering that one?
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea that's the one i suggest

it's a very good psu

but if you're planning on going dual core or SLI, you might want to consider more wattage
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

why would that psu be better then this one? --> http://www.chiefvalue.com/app/produc...tem=17-182-005
jolancer is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

i am considering one or both of those but it will be a while.. i think i might wait until the prices on higher wattage psu's go down( because of dual core and sli etc.).

thx 4 the info
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

OCZ power supplies have stronger and steadier rails, they're about as good as they come. The powerstreams are more powerful than the modstreams if you care to know, but either one at 450 watt output rate or higher is fine.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea, ocz are one of the best, if not the best psu makers

Quote:
why would that psu be better then this one? --> http://www.chiefvalue.com/app/produ...item=17-182-005
wtf u smoking??? rosewill is shiet
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

i am considering one or both of those but it will be a while.. i think i might wait until the prices on higher wattage psu's go down( because of dual core and sli etc.).

thx 4 the info
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

the OCZ is FAR SUPERIOR TO THE OTHER ONE!!! Only get PSUs from Antec, OCZ, Thermaltake, Ennermax, and Ultra (i have an ultra, its great).
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 12:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

yes, i can guess that there will be a little quality difference.

but as powerfull as the rosewill is. i cant imagine it would be that much more unstable?

what specifically is bad about the rosewill? was there a bad review done on it?

im not trying to defend any brand. im just lookin for specifics to watch out for.. for future reference or knowledge when looking at psu's.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.