PSU Experience. I think I made out? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2005, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default PSU Experience. I think I made out?

Ok well I went from having a 500watt Aspire 12v, clear top and UV reactive cables, got it at Fry's Electronics, guy told me it was great they make awesome supplies. Well I got home put it in, I thought my board was shorting out turns out it was the PSU, I took it to Tiger Direct Outlet Store, they tested it and they found it was a bad, the inside was all burnt and everything they said it was like a really crappy supply, so I was like wtf, I spent 65$ at a store 2 hours away from me. So now I have to return that but I got one of the new

ULTRA X-Connects, its the Chrome one, not sure which one that ranks but its a 500watt, and UV reactive cables looks and works great. Super Super quiet.

Also, I got it for 30$ they had super super super amount of them returned because they said they didn't work, but they sent to manufacturer and all refrubished so pretty much brand new, but they are originally like 120$ there I got it for 30$ and I'm running strong.

All in all, I don't recommend Aspire, really pissed me off. (PSU's Anyway) unless that one was just bad I dunno.
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I have an Ultra X-Connect, and its lasted me - so far. However, i have heard stories of them suddenly shorting out. If i could, i would replace it.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

Really? This ones doing the job so far, I agree. If it shorts out I'll be pissed but you know what, I only spent 30 bux so if it goes out Replace it, if I can't oh well. All I know is I'm running that Aspire. LoL made me so mad.
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

It will probably be fine as long as u dont OC...
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.