PSU and case, what do you think? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2005, 04:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
Default PSU and case, what do you think?

The new system I'm building:

AMD Athlon 64 3200
GA-K8NS Ultra-939
Seagate 120GB 7200RPM IDE
Mushkin Dual Pack 184-Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT


I wanted your opinions on the case and PSU:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-026&depa=0

and

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...148-008&depa=0

I'm mainly concerned that the PSU is powerful enough. Thanks!
__________________

Homer_J is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via AIM to NewCents05
Default

looks good, ull have a nice system
__________________

NewCents05 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

im sure its more than enough power, you should want to take a look at thermaltake PSU's
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...153-007&depa=0
phosho510 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Will the one I picked out be powerful enough? One of the reasons I like it is because it has 35amps on the 12 volt rail. From what little I understand, that's really good for gaming. The one you suggested is 18amps. Please let me know if I'm totally wrong on this!
Homer_J is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 05:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

Go with the 35amp one. It is a monster. I ordered the same thing after a long research and a previous failure.
Just my opinion .
__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 05:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Person
Go with the 35amp one. It is a monster. I ordered the same thing after a long research and a previous failure.
Just my opinion .
Great, thanks bud.
Homer_J is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 06:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
Default

I have another question about my system - I'm ordering all the parts and my friend is going to help me build it. Will I need a cooling system or thermal paste? I'm just researching and ordering the parts, but I have no idea when it comes to cooling. Thanks
Homer_J is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 06:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

You mean cooling for the cpu or case or something else? Retail CPUs come all required cooling. Cases should come with fans too.
__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 06:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Your origional setup is perfect. I have the same case and a 500watt PSU with only 17amps on the 12v rail. Yet it runs ok.

Good choice. Advice: be carful with the tray that you put the MB on and then slide in, it isnt very sturdy and tends to want to crack the securing bolts on the bottom of the case.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 06:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Excellent, thanks!

As far as an OS goes, if I just order this (see link) will it be everything I need? I saw Windows XP Home for around $200, so I'm kind of confused as why this is so much cheaper:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-151&depa=0
__________________

Homer_J is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.