psu amps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2004, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default psu amps

For a psu the higher the amps on the rails are the better, right?

Is there some kind of trend to when a power supply fails?
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Usually when your PC reboots for no reason and you've troubleshooted all other hardware thats a sign that your PSU is failing. Also the answer to your question is YES

You want the highest rated rails possible, especially the +12v rail, it's hard to find a good PSU with a nice strong +12v Rail.

This thermaltake 560w PSU like I got has a 22a +12v rail, pretty good, I got 10 case fans, 1 CPU fan, 2 in the PSU, OC'd Processor, OC'd RAM, regular graphics card, 2 hard drives, 2 optical drives, and it serves my purposes...if you need more

then there's the Ultra 500w Modular connection PSU which has a +12v rail of 34a!!
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 12:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I found the antec 550w psu that has a 32A on the 3.3v, a 40A on the 5v, and 36A on the 12v. I cant imagine being able to use all of this power. But with everything in my case and possibly more case fans and another hard drive I dont think I will have to worry about using all the power.

How fast does a psu deterorite, or fail? Does using more of the power speed up the process? Or is it just hours of usage?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Opps I forgot the link for the psu.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-918&depa=0
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.