Psu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2005, 10:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default Psu

I need a new PSU. Will this one be enough to power the system in my sig?

http://www.overclock.co.uk/customer/...roductid=17906

Does anyone else have any other reccomendations?

Thank's in advance.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 12:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

First off, is the PSU you have in your system now Generic? if not what brand?

The one you posted i've never heard of or seen. I Run my computers on Enermax and they work perfectly fine. No problems. Alot of people like to recommend Antec as well.

As for how much Wattage you need, i have a site bookmarked on my other comp that i can post, i'll post it for ya when i get home.

Cheers-
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 12:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I have seen them before, and it seems like a good PSU for the price (I read a review, they say alot of thought was put into them.) I personaly would get Antec, Thermaltake (I'm looking out for one on ebay ) OCZ or Enermax.


If you buy that, you will be a bit of a guinepig, trying it out, as I haven't seen anyone on this forum or other forums, where I have asked use them. But on a forum, they ranked that PSU quite highly (I will find it.)


Edit: I found it:http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=56231
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 01:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Ah ok thanks.

Lasrix, yeah the PSU I currently have was one of the the cheapest PSUs I've ever seen. It claims to be 500W, but it's starting to make wierd noises. It is completely unbranded, no name or anything.

I have heard that Tagan are good though.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 03:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Only get the following brands:

-Antec
-thermaltake
-OCZ
-Ennermax
-PC Power and Cooling

everything else = crap with fans on it
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 03:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

seasonic, fortron, sparkle, tagan, some superflowers//TTGI, Hiper, akasa, link depot, antec, i-star, zippy, emac, and some other brands also make quality PSU's

anyways, that tagan will be enough to power your system
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.