Psu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2005, 04:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Question Psu

Can you guys tell me if you have heard anything good or bad about he Coolermaster Real Power 450W ATX PSU? Thinking of using it with a DFI MOBO and a 3200 venice CPU and a 6800gt.

Cheers Guys

The Dougster
__________________

thedougster is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

You would be better off with the OCZ Modstream 510watts

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104155

or for something a little cheaper, but also good quality, try the Thermaltake Silent Purepower 480 watter for $70

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153012
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 04:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

1.) that psu isn't strong enough
2.) dhw, that thermaltake is 20pin psu, that DFI mobo needs 24, even t hough 20 would work, it isn't recommended

if you're sticking with one 6800GT, then a OCZ modstream 500 or more watts would work

if you're planning to upgrade to another 6800GT or getting the new 7800GTX or R520 core graphics card, then you should get an OCZ powerstream 500W or more
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 04:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

good point about the connector, i didnt see that
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 07:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Just to clarifie but the DFI board is an ATX isn't it but it used a 24 pin connector?

The Dougster
thedougster is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 10:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default

Yes make sure your Power supply has a native 24 pin connector. The adapter that comes with some are not recamended, nor supported by DFI. check this thread http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7619
stevedub is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 11:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Thanks for that guys I am thinking of going with OCZ but cant work out what the main difference between these two are:

OCZ ModStream 520w Power Supply PCI-E
http://www.casetech.co.uk/OCZ-ModStr...E-p-17412.html

OCZ PowerStream 520w Power Supply inc PCI-E
http://www.casetech.co.uk/OCZ-PowerS...E-p-17228.html

What is the difference between the ModStream and the PowerStream range? If you look at the links you see the PowerStream is cheeper.

The Dougster
thedougster is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 12:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

powerstream has more tweaking options... but its not as good because not all the cables are sheilded like the modstream. unless you are going to be tweaking voltages and stuff, the modstream is beter.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 01:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default

I have the powerstream, and I'm really happy with it. It is a well built psu, and it works great for my system
stevedub is offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 03:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

if your next upgrade is another whole different computer, then get the modstream

if your next upgrade is using the same computer except you're going to upgrade the cpu and graphics card or whatever, then get the powerstream
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.