Psu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2005, 07:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default Psu

just wondering how many watts im gonna need to run

Amd 64 3000
abit av8 3rd eye
leadtek winfast a6600GT
Dvd drive
dvd burner
leadtek winfast tv2000 xp rm

also, if i only need 400 watts, will i damage it if i use a 500 watt supply, im assumin i would, but i want a case, and it comes with a 500watt psu, i cant get it with a 400watt, or without one
__________________

Todd0 is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

www.casemodgod.com/psu_calculator.htm
www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

The 420 Watt Thermaltake should be more than enough I think. Very cheap on newegg. How many HDDs btw?. Each of em prolly draws about 25 Watts peak.

EDIT:
And no, using a higher rated (500 W) PSU should be ok. In fact, the PSU will probably last longer since it's not stressed out as much. I'd just go with the 420 W.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

2 hard drives, thanx for the links, can i turn a 500 watt supply down in the bios or something?
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

that's dumb

you always should have more than enough watts

also, watts doesn't matter on a psu; the brand and ratings @ 12V matters (i.e. a 350W seasonic is better than an ultra 500W or a rosewill 500W)

a thermaltake silent purepower 480W should do
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

oh ok thanx
i'd use a 420, but i mayaswell use the 500w as it will come with the case
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Sorry, didn't read your post carefully enough. It comes with a PSU you say? Well, just b/c it's higher rated it shouldn't "damage" your computer. I am using a 450 W power supply (generic brand) on one of my old computers (Pentium III). That thing probably draws like only 200 W max :-\..

The thing with generic PSUs (like the one in ur case) is that they are not very good quality. The darn thing could surge and fry your components and such. They don't not very "safe". I'd go with a good brand like Antec, Thermaltake, OCZ, Enermax, etc.

One of my friends fried his whole system recently b/c of a crappy PSU. I suggest that you either get a different case without a PSU and save some money - or get a good nice case with great cooling and NOT save some money OR just throw the crappy PSU away and get a good brand.
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

how do u know it is a generic psu
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

MGE i think it is
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII

also, watts doesn't matter on a psu; the brand and ratings @ 12V matters (i.e. a 350W seasonic is better than an ultra 500W or a rosewill 500W)

a thermaltake silent purepower 480W should do
Well both of them matter. I guess knowing the current on the 12 V rail gives u the Wattage of the 12 V rail since the voltage is err. obviously 12 V .. But, that doesn't tell u the overall picture in terms of Wattage of PSU.. It just tells u the max Wattage of the 12 V rail (current x 12 V).

The Thermaltake 420W or 480 W should both be good choices. I'd go with the 420W since it is cheaper and u really don't need 480 W. If u have enough $$ u can go with the 480 W. More Power great and everything. But costs more $$.

Just to let u know, I am going to be building a new 3000+, 6600 GT system soon. And I'll be getting a OCZ Modstream 520 W - max 620 W PSU. b/c I'll be upgrading over the next little while.
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 08:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Todd0
how do u know it is a generic psu
If it's a cheap price that's too good to be true

Get a thermaltake td-420ad, will suit ya fine and cheap
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.