is this the psu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2004, 04:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default is this the psu

hi im trying to fix a problem on a freinds computer when you plug the comp in and switch it on the comp just sits there idle for 5mins or so before switching on im thinking this could be the psu any other ideas before i purchase a new one please thanks in advance mlr
__________________

mlr is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 04:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

it very much could be the PSU. with these sorts of problems - it can sometimes be hard to pinpoint the exact cause. Why dont you swap your PSU with his and see if he problem is fixed on his comp and if it happens on your comp. Then you KNOW its the PSU and dont have to worry about dishing out the cash for a new one only to find out that it wasnt the PSU at all...
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 04:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

so what, does it turn on after it's done idiling? or does it just sit there. do you get any power at all? how many watts is it and what does he have under the hood?
compy is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 05:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

yes it does switch on normaly after 5 mins and runs perfect the comp is around 5 years old and as had cd writer added but thats about all it has an 150 watt psu which is running a dvd rom cd writer floppy 1 hd and three sticks of ram
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 05:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to 72montecarlo Send a message via Yahoo to 72montecarlo
Default

with a 150watt psu im surprised its running at all. should get atleast a 300 or 350watt psu.
72montecarlo is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 05:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

lol thats what i thought
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 05:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

I'll bet money that it's not the power supply that's your problem. If the power supply was not giving enough power your computer would not turn on at all or behave very erratic. I'm willing to bet it's either a simple setting in the BIOS you need to change or your motherboard has some hardware issues that can't be fixed other than replacing the mobo or just live with the problem.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 05:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sithspawn
it very much could be the PSU. with these sorts of problems - it can sometimes be hard to pinpoint the exact cause. Why dont you swap your PSU with his and see if he problem is fixed on his comp and if it happens on your comp. Then you KNOW its the PSU and dont have to worry about dishing out the cash for a new one only to find out that it wasnt the PSU at all...
Vortexkrow is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 06:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

i realy dont think it is the psu as i removed dvd rom cd writer and modem etc but it was still the same i cant tryu my psu in the comp as mine wont fit so its just gona have to stay like it is for the time being thanks for all your sugestions tho
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 08-15-2004, 07:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mlr
i realy dont think it is the psu as i removed dvd rom cd writer and modem etc but it was still the same i cant tryu my psu in the comp as mine wont fit so its just gona have to stay like it is for the time being thanks for all your sugestions tho
ahhah mate, sorry to tell ya but i really think its the psu thats doing it!
__________________

Vortexkrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.