Proving a Disk in a different PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2004, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 109
Default Proving a Disk in a different PC

If I want to prove a HDD is functioning properly by installing it in a different PC base, will it be necessary to install all the new devices it detects on the 2nd PC & can I then re-install it in its original case without losing any of the original settings.

I hope you can understand what I'm getting at, sorry it seems a poor description

Thanks
__________________

philb101 is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 08:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

Well, if I'm reading it right, you want to put a HDD in another computer without installing the drivers, or if you have to, be able to put it back in the first computer without it being messed up. Well, as long as you put the HDD from the first computer as a slave to the HDD in the 2nd computer you wont have to install anything on it, it will just show up as a second HDD or it wont. If you have to put it in a second computer without another HDD as the master, you should be able to install it without installing any new drivers, but some of the components of the second computer may not work. That doesn't matter if all you are doing is testing to see if the drive works. Even if, for some reason you do have to install some drivers, it shouldn't matter. The old drivers will still be there when you put it back in the first system. There, a long post to say little.
__________________

__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 09:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Re: Proving a Disk in a different PC

Quote:
Originally posted by philb101
If I want to prove a HDD is functioning properly by installing it in a different PC base, will it be necessary to install all the new devices it detects on the 2nd PC & can I then re-install it in its original case without losing any of the original settings.

I hope you can understand what I'm getting at, sorry it seems a poor description

Thanks
HDD's don't have drivers.

This can be done,just set the bios to autodetect HD's.
No different than getting a new one.
Reading between the lines:This seem to be more than that.
What is the problem where it is now ?
stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 10:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

if you want to test the hard drive .You can do so with a utilty that boots from a floppy .Go to the Hard Drive manufacture web sight and download the tools needed for the specific drive .Easy to do very efective. Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 02-26-2004, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Over to you 101

Quote:
Originally posted by Cappy
if you want to test the hard drive .You can do so with a utilty that boots from a floppy .Go to the Hard Drive manufacture web sight and download the tools needed for the specific drive .Easy to do very efective. Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools
I don't think we know what needs to be tested yet.
My guess is saveing data.
A system floppy does it too.If you made one during installation " that is"

stan-the-man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.