Proper grounding techniques? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2005, 12:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

Call me a loose cannon but I have yet to "fry" anything yet from static electricity when working inside my computer case. Parts are a lot more durable than they used to be and the only thing I'm careful with is the process.... and even then I just touch the side of the case before grabbing the cpu.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 01:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jinexile
Call me a loose cannon but I have yet to "fry" anything yet from static electricity when working inside my computer case. Parts are a lot more durable than they used to be and the only thing I'm careful with is the process.... and even then I just touch the side of the case before grabbing the cpu.
just consider yourself lucky. you obviuosly don't know how capacitors and resistors work.

I had a lady who do hair for a living on a carpeted floor, bring me a Fried computer a few months ago. I know the lady, because she does my daughter hair. my first question was "do you touch any part of the inside? because in your line of work, you shouldn't do that"

her answer was yes. the comp. was less than a year old. she had fried parts everywhere.

we are not saying that everytime you touch the inside of a computer if you don't ground yourself, that you will fry something.

what we are saying is to just ground yourself before doing it, so that you don't fry anything. there is no worse feeling in the world, than paying 2,000 on a computer and then frying it when you go to put a new video card in, because your body has too much static in it
__________________

EricB is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 01:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

I know how capacitors and resistors work, I think as long as you use a little common sense before touching anything in a computer you dont need to standing on a a grounding mat in a clean room with a bunnysuit. I've serviced over 100 computers, often while on carpets, and have yet to have one die on me as a result. Infact the ONLY time I've ever had a motherboard fry on me was when the people at the computershop imporperly mounted it to the case (last time I trusted them to do any mounting for me.)

Take a look at this article, its in the very last section
http://pcworld.about.com/magazine/2208p107id116572.htm

It says it's advised that you wear a ground strap, not necessary as long as you discharge any built up static before working on equipment.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 01:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Call me a loose cannon but I have yet to "fry" anything yet from static electricity when working inside my computer case. Parts are a lot more durable than they used to be and the only thing I'm careful with is the process.... and even then I just touch the side of the case before grabbing the cpu.
yea what EricB said.

and like everything else, thats variable dependent. example-

someone might try to modify there computer upstairs ona rug, wering a wool sweater in the winter.

wile u might be modifying your computer in the basment, nude, in the summer.

your situation obviously would turn out different resaults conserning static damage.
jolancer is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jinexile
I know how capacitors and resistors work, I think as long as you use a little common sense before touching anything in a computer you dont need to standing on a a grounding mat in a clean room with a bunnysuit. I've serviced over 100 computers, often while on carpets, and have yet to have one die on me as a result. Infact the ONLY time I've ever had a motherboard fry on me was when the people at the computershop imporperly mounted it to the case (last time I trusted them to do any mounting for me.)

Take a look at this article, its in the very last section
http://pcworld.about.com/magazine/2208p107id116572.htm

It says it's advised that you wear a ground strap, not necessary as long as you discharge any built up static before working on equipment.
I'm not saying waste your money on a ground strap, just touch yourself to earth, before messing with a computer
EricB is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
I've ripped off that 3rd grounding plug before because of not having a socket that had 3 prongs.
L M A O !
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Take a look at this article, its in the very last section
http://pcworld.about.com/magazine/2208p107id116572.htm

It says it's advised that you wear a ground strap, not necessary as long as you discharge any built up static before working on equipment.
ok, u listen to whoever wrote that article... and the rest of us will just use common sence. let us know how that works out.
jolancer is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 02:51 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

11 years... so far so good.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 03:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
11 years... so far so good.
just so others know, that may have worked out ok so far for you. but no one should follow that example. thats like saying, hey i know this guy whos like 80 and he's still smoking every day, there cant be anything rong with it.

and just so others know, thy guy who wrote that article doesnt know what he's talking about, or he's ludacris. example -
Quote:
Though people don't detect a static charge of less than 3000 volts (by the way, it's amps that kill, not volts)
example that can be applyed to prolly any cuircut on a bourd.. 5 volt circut with .5 amps = 10ohms.

3000/10 = 300amps.

as though thats not dangerouse enough already, u can prolly easily build a static charge to 50000v and higher.
jolancer is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 06:42 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 168
Default

Your hands need to have the same electrostatic potential as your system. Current will flow if there is a difference in potential. It would do you no good to ground yourself on a pipe if your computer case is not grounded to the same pipe. Simple answer, touch the case or your power supply (if your case is plastic) or use a wrist strap.

In addition, avoid putting your hand acrosss the leads of a card or CPU. Even if you and the case are grounded, shorting leads can allow latent charge to flow.
__________________

gsbtech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.