Processors! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2004, 08:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default Processors!

I'm not really in the know about Processors these days, but I'm getting a laptop with 60GB HDD and 1024MB RAM with an Intel Celeron D 320 Processor. Is this processor any good nowadays?
__________________

kieran avfc is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 08:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

it is quite old but everything else looks really good. i say get it.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 02:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

I've heard bad things about Celeron. Be careful.
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 02:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

my brother has problems overclocking his Celeron D
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 03:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Fear
Default

Do you have a choice of another processor?


-Silent Fear
Silent_Fear is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 02:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

No, it's a deal from http://www.thecomputershop.co.uk/packages.php?id=3
kieran avfc is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 02:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 77
Default

I wouldn't do it. A slow processor is going to kill the speed regardless of that 1 GB of RAM that is going to be in the system. Also Celeron is not a bad processor, but is mostly used in business that don't require an extra punch of speed. See if you can't find another deal.
__________________
-Pentium IV 2.6C w/Hyper Threading Technology
-1GB DDR PC3200 RAM
-Radeon 9800 XT
-120GB 10,000 RPM SATA HD
-52x 48x 52x Sony CD Rom Drive
-16x DVD R/RW Drive
-Windows XP Professional
-Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro
-Intel i875 800MHZ FSB motherboard
-1.44 MB Floppy Drive
-Thermaltake Pro case
Jonesie is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 02:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

What would you say is an ideal speed athlon processor for a laptop then? eg 2600+ 2800+ 3000+
kieran avfc is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 04:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Would 2600+ be okay?
kieran avfc is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 05:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would personally get this one, the Athlon 64's are probbably the best CPU's right now, not only because they can process 64-bit
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.