Processor or Video Card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2004, 10:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
Unhappy Processor or Video Card?

Hi, I'm just wondering whether I should get a new graphics card or a new processor (lol there). I play a lot of games, like Halo and Battlefield 1942, and I feel that my Intel Celeron isn't doing me much good. But then again, the on-board graphics are bad too. I need to keep it under aboout $170 Canadian too. Please help.

O yeah, my specs are:

Compaq Preario

Intel Celeron CPU 2.8GHz

0.99 GB of RAM
__________________

ThE sHoZnAt is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 10:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125
Default

hmm that's going to depend on what kind of motherboard you have. If you don't have a decent motherboard you cant get the best out of a new video card or a new proccessor.
__________________

__________________
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lian-Li G70B
Core 2 Duo E6400@3.3ghz
2GB Mushkin Redline XP-8000
150GB Raptor
Hitachi 160GB Desktar
NEC 3520A
eVGA 7900GT Signature Series
Dell 2007FP WUXGA
Wall7486 is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

i think you need to edit your post. you asked wether you should get a new graphics card or video card. they are the same thing.

can the celeron go up to 2.8ghz??
xotix is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 11:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think you shouyld upgrade to a Radeon 9600 XT or 9800 Pro, or if you have more money, an X800 - the Celeron 2.8 wil be able to handle Doom 3, although the onboard graphics won't
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

I agree with apokalipse. :up:
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 04:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
the Celeron 2.8 wil be able to handle Doom 3
-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 08:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

There is no doubt its that god awful onboard graphics
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Up until a few months ago I had an emachines with a 1.7 GHz celeron and on board graphics. My roommates made me jealous because they were playing all the new games, but I couldn't play them at all. I had to play Black Hawk Down on 800x600 with everything on the lowest settings. I could play Call of Duty or UT2004 at all. Man onboard graphics made me want to pull my hair out.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 10:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I think you shouyld upgrade to a Radeon 9600 XT or 9800 Pro, or if you have more money, an X800 - the Celeron 2.8 wil be able to handle Doom 3, although the onboard graphics won't
Don't get an X800 unless you want to go all out and get the X800XT P.E. That card would be bottlenecked by your processor. Get a 9800 Pro.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 10:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Yeah, the 9800 pro sounds like a good choice, but isn't that like 200ish american. I think that would put him over his limit, but I could just be shopping in the wrong place
__________________

__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.