which processor upgrade would be best - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2004, 01:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

What ever you do dont buy a celeron!
I have celerons on my slower basement computers. The 1.7 celerons are horribly slow and junky! You can get an athlon xp for the same price as that celeron and it would be almost twice as fast! If you go with intel definately buy a p4! I would rather have a Athlon 64 instead though. Especially the 939 socket with the dual channel 2000MHz Hypertransport bus! When you upgrade video cards find something with directX 9 support.
__________________

Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 04:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

ok for 220$ u can get a nice intell p4 with socket t and a new mobo for 300 u can get some mushkin ram thats what im getting
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 12:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Default

after reading all the suggestions(which i greatly appreciate from all). It sounds like i will be spending around 300-400 dollars. I think for a little more i can have a gaming machine built. I would like to get rid of this computer as parts or as a trade towards a custom built if anyone knows anyone interestested please let me know.
thank you all very much!!
phillyb is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 01:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by phillyb
after reading all the suggestions(which i greatly appreciate from all). It sounds like i will be spending around 300-400 dollars. I think for a little more i can have a gaming machine built. I would like to get rid of this computer as parts or as a trade towards a custom built if anyone knows anyone interestested please let me know.
thank you all very much!!
Say what know? You can't get anything worth a darn built for you for $500 bucks man, your better off buying the parts and building it yourself
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 01:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Default

i have a friend here that builds computers and he built my buddies for his office for $500 everything except monitor. Maybe what I am considering sufficient and what you do are very different. I am just looking for a machine that provides quality graphics that runs smoothly and can hanle all the new games and online play also. Any suggestion on a good set-up?
phillyb is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 03:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by phillyb
i have a friend here that builds computers and he built my buddies for his office for $500 everything except monitor. Maybe what I am considering sufficient and what you do are very different. I am just looking for a machine that provides quality graphics that runs smoothly and can hanle all the new games and online play also. Any suggestion on a good set-up?
Like I said for $500 bucks your not gonna get much, a decent CPU, mobo and video card will cost that alone, not to mention you need a HD, case, PSU, etc........

I'd say your gonna want a Athlon XP, cheapo Nforce2 mobo, and maybe a 9800 Pro
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 08:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Default

what is toyr opinion on an AMD processor, Athlon XP 2800+ Barton 333FSB. motherboard ABIT NF7-S. HArd drive Hitachi 80 GB Deskstar 120 GXP 7200 rpm Ultra ATA100? what else would be good?
phillyb is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 09:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Default

Ok... $500 you can get some stuff. I recently put together a system for £120 ($200 or so). It was a basic system, no O/S, no moniter, all new though... Sempron 2200+, 120gb HD, etc. So claiming you can't put a system that's worth much together for $500 is weird.

Also, memory on graphics cards are not what you should be looking at. My very, very old 64mb Geforce4 ti4200 will outperform some new 256mb cards. Memory is not insignificant, but it's far from the most important thing in a graphics card. In some cases (eg the 64mb ti4200, vs the 128mb ti4200), there is absolutely no significant real world difference.

Back to the original post... AMD socket A motherboards can be got for basically nothing now ($20?), sempron processors are cheap too($70?), pick up a ti4200 off ebay($40?), and RAM($Take your pick, more costs more, 512mb will do just about everything now with ease), you'll have a system that can run just about anything you want it to, for bugger all money.
Smauler is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 09:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Default

ok, let me give you a run down of what i have in my old computer now. i have upgraded some things. It came with 128MB of ram. I now have 2 sticks of 256 MB pc 133. i have an nvidia geforce mx4000 128MB vid. card. the prob seems to be with the age of my mobo and pent III processor. its only 980Mhz . what can i salvage and what do i need new? thank you
phillyb is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 09:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Well, I think what you consider sufficient is definately less than what most people think is sufficient for running games here. If you want Intel, then this is what I suggest.

Intel Pentium 4 2.4C (2400/512/800/1.525)
Abit IC7-G MaxII Advance (Socket 478/I875)
Raidmax Blue Gamer's Case w/ 420W PSU
pQI Turbo Series Dual Channel 2 x 256 MB
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Atlantis 128MB
Optorite DVD +/- RW Burner/Reader
Generic or Branded 52x CD-ROM Drive
Western Digital Caviar 60GB HDD 7200RPM
Creative Sound Blaster Adudigy 2 Value
Creative SB240 2.0 Audio System/Speakers
Thermaltake XAserIII KB+Mouse Combo
Thermalright XP-90 Heatsink For 478

My friend uses this setup for his gaming system and it runs like a charm. He has overclocked his processor to 3204 MHz from 2400 MHz on a 267 base clock. This is his exact setup. If you can strip optical drives and hard disks then you will have a system in your range. I suggest you overclock and try to get a decent overclock or a great overclock like my friend. The extra 67 MHz memory speed really will help in games.

However, if you really are on a budget, then you can upgrade that Pentium III. I'm thinking that since it is a Pentium III 1.0 GHz, it is a Coppermine core on Socket 370. If that is the case, then I suggest you purchase an FC-PGA to FC-PGA2 converter and then buy yourself a Pentium III-S 1.4 GHz (1400/512/133/1.5) processor on Tualatin core. The PIII-S processors can outperform a P4 @ 2.0 GHz on stock and that is why Intel canned them. Secondly, the Tualatins can reach 2.0 GHz easily.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.