Processor Upgrade Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2004, 11:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default Processor Upgrade Question

I currently have an AMD Athlon XP 2500+ in the system you see in my sig. I was thinking of upgrading to an XP 3200+ or an XP 3000+, and I have basically 2 questions.

(1) Would it make much of a difference at all to upgrade from what I have now to the 3200+, or will the difference be unnoticeable?

(2) How much of a difference is there between the XP 3200+ and the XP 3000+? I was thinking of saving a few bucks and getting the XP 3000+, simply to be able to use the 400 FSB. Would the extra MHz be worth like 20 extra bucks for a 3200+?

Thanks in advance for the help.
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 12:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

i would just overclock the cpu too 3200 speeds and save some money
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 12:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I thought of that, but wanted to avoid overclocking just to minimize any instabilities. Plus, I've never overclocked before, so I would be pretty nervous about it. I'd rather just try to sell my old CPU and get a new one.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

well if you dont want to overclock go for the 3200 if you have the money as its 400mhz which is the same as your memory
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 06:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

BUMP...any more advice?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 07:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Well, the diff between the 3000+ and 3200+ is minimal and it wouldn't take a whole lot of OCing to get a 3000+ to 3200+ speeds :P

I'd say either a 3000+ or 3200+ would be fine, but what is the difference in price? If its less then $20 I would go for the 3200+
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 07:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Thanks for the reply TheMerlin. Would I notice a difference from the 2500+ I have now, and if so, is it anything worth upgrading to? Also, do you know if AMD packages the same retail heatsink and fan for the entire Athlon XP line? The reason I'm asking is that I already have the heatsink and fan that came with my 2500 when I bought it retail.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

what is worth wile or not changes between each persons.

my opinion - its not worth it. a 3000/3200 is prolly about 170 to 190(i think). for a bout 350 or 400, u can prolly get a 3000/3200 A64 + 939 mobo. maybe for even less, lol im not lookin it up.

and the performance diff would prolly be greatest between the XP and 64.
jolancer is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 08:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to MadMan2k Send a message via AIM to MadMan2k Send a message via Yahoo to MadMan2k
Default

I agree with the Athlon64 jump, getting a socket 745 motherboard and the 754 version of the 3000+ would be fairly cheap ($160 for the chip, $70-120 for the board). You could also get some money from selling your current mobo/CPU.

The speed difference will be pretty great, even the A64 2800+ running in 32-bit mode (slightly slower than 64 bit would be) is faster than the older, 32-bit 3200+
MadMan2k is offline  
Old 11-03-2004, 09:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

I was having the same problem a month or two ago. I didn't know whether to dump my XP 2600+ and go for a XP 3200+. It would have been cheaper, because I wouldn't have had to buy a new motherboard. But honestly I thought it was a waste of money, so I opted to go for a 64 Bit processor, and I could acctually tell the difference between the XP 2600+ and my exisiting 64 3200+.

I would say if your short on cash get a Athlon 64 3000 or 3200+ Socket 754, just because most people don't make CPU changes on the same motherboard anyway. So it really doesn't matter whether you get Socket 939 or 754, your just going to save a small amount of money with Socket 754. But if your dead set on the most preformance for the money, and you really want Dual Channel DDR support, get a Socket 939 Chip.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.