processor speed vs. ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2005, 04:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to K Tooz
Default processor speed vs. ram

I am looking at buying a laptop. My needs are pretty basic.... I am basically wondering what is more important for general speed. Processor speed or RAM? I have a choice between celeron m processor 1.5 ghz (1gig RAM) $799 vs P4 2.4 ghz (512 MB RAM) $1150. What is the better deal and what is more useful in the long run. Thanks in advance for all your help and advice.....
__________________

K Tooz is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Default

What is your definition of "pretty basic" needs?
__________________

OCgod* is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 06:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 139
Default

Does either come with dual channel RAM?

Otherwise, I'd guess the p4 is much faster (most people say celerons suck and I don't have any experience with them).
__________________
-The one and only Keebler Elf-
Squaggleboggin is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to Zeeg
Default

Well from my experience, Celeron processer do better for word processing and bascily anything that isn't video-like. You can use a celeron for video stuff but you won't get as good performance compared to a P4 for video. I would recomend the P4.
__________________
http://img36.exs.cx/img36/2732/zeeg0kq.gif

My (Dell) PC
Intel
Zeeg is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Default

Havent answered the "pretty basic" need question yet, so im going to dive in this one blind folded. If I were you depending on what the use is for, if you are going to be just processing and surfing...etc go with the Celeron D w/1gig, or like Zeeg suggested, if anything with video's and or/ editing go with the P4 and as far as future... Go with the P4 but as the technology advances it really doesnt matter lol, hope I was helpful
OCgod* is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 07:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

I too would recommend the P4. If not that, then certainly not a celeron, they are the low end cheapo chips. 512 is probably fine for your "basic" needs, and the gig probably isnt physically faster, just bigger. Go with the speed!
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 07:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to K Tooz
Default

basic= surfing, processing, basic apps.....
K Tooz is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 07:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 154
Default

why don't you try Intel Centrino technology?
it is using the mobile processors for laptops.this is better and can boost up the performance too.
512 RAM is definitely sufficient for the basic tasks.
__________________
The important thing is not to stop questioning...
Albert Einstein
ZoneFire is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 09:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Zeeg, Intel Celerons are purposely made to run slow. Intel makes them to load applications at a very slower rate so it never freezse. Intel Pentium 4's are much better then celerons , dealing with anything.

I dont recommend anything Celeron. I want to know where your buying a laptop with a P4 2.4ghz probably 533mhz FSB for over 1000$... Your getting rippet off man. I do suggest a Intel Centrino. They are really good with battery life, very ideal for basic use. Heres a link for the Intel Centrino.

http://www.ibuypower.com/ibp/store/c...r.aspx?mid=121
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 09:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to Zeeg
Default

Well that makes sense.
__________________

__________________
http://img36.exs.cx/img36/2732/zeeg0kq.gif

My (Dell) PC
Intel
Zeeg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.