Processor question... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2004, 10:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

go with AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 1GB (512MBx2) PC3200.. 9800Pro 256MB graphics card!!
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 10:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

because ur worryin about how much money to spend.. so just stick with that CPU and that GFX card... that will set u good and u wont have to pay a rediculous price for a x800 or somethin!!
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 08:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BLuEnGrEEnPC
because ur worryin about how much money to spend.. so just stick with that CPU and that GFX card... that will set u good and u wont have to pay a rediculous price for a x800 or somethin!!
so you think i should go with the xp 3200+ with dual channel over just the 64 3200+? Whats everyone else opinion?
Athlon xp 3200
1 gig ram (2x512) in dual channel
Radeon 9800 pro 128mb (maybe 256mb)

or

Athlon 64 3200+
1 gig ram (2x512) not dual channel cause not possible
Radeon 9800 pro 128mb (maybe 256mb)

So which one should I go with? And if I should go with the 64 3200+ which mobo do I need? Will the asus a7n8x-e deluxe support both processors?
Ice9 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 01:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

what do you understand by dual channel, your comment made me confused (Not possible), how come u can say that?
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 01:52 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

No, I have 1 GB of RAM and a Athlon 64 CPU, the FSB of the 64's make up for the loss of the ability to run dual channel. The 64-Bit CPU's are much much faster than the XP's and if you have 1GB of 3200 and its good, dual channel then becomes pointless. Get the Asus K8V-SE Deluxe motherboard (its on newegg). It is AWESOME! I have it and there is no way you can go wrong with it.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 02:16 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

yea.. im sellin my K8V Deluxe socket 754 MoBo.. doesnt have all the cables and CD Drivers... its just the motherboard.. but if u have cables already then u can still hook them up to it... PM me or somethin if u want to talk about it!!
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 02:27 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

AMD 64 cost you more compare to your ATHLON XP.
If for gaming purpose, ATHLON XP 3200++ definite sufficient to handle, better use the extra money to get a nice graphic card.
Bcoz the most important thing in gaming is graphic card.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 02:35 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GameGURU
No, I have 1 GB of RAM and a Athlon 64 CPU, the FSB of the 64's make up for the loss of the ability to run dual channel. The 64-Bit CPU's are much much faster than the XP's and if you have 1GB of 3200 and its good, dual channel then becomes pointless. Get the Asus K8V-SE Deluxe motherboard (its on newegg). It is AWESOME! I have it and there is no way you can go wrong with it.
ok I will do that, but I see in your sig that oyu have an athlon 64 3000+ you think I should just go with that? Then maybe with that I may have enough for a better graphics card or at least the 256mb version of the 9800 pro. there is a few athlon 64 3200's that come with the asus K8n8x-LA mobo. Is this is a good mobo?
Ice9 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 07:17 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

1:AMD 64BIT is good choice.
2: dual channel wont bring significant performance as what u get out of AMD 64Bit
3: dont buy 9800PRO in 256MB (either go for 9800PRO 128MB or 9800XT 256MB), 9800PRO 256MB has showed poor results as compared to 9800PRO 128MB.

and in motherboard, do not buy on nVidia chipset, go with VIA chipset, on models K8V Deluxe, (if you are buying 754 pin version of processor) and MOST RECOMMENDED is that, as now AMD has made both Athlon 64BIT and Athlon FX 53 on same pin design (i.e 939 pins), BEST is to buy Asus A8V Deluxe (on VIA K8T800 Pro chipset), this will help you out in such a way, that in case you decide to upgrade your processor from AMD 64BIT to AMD Athlon FX 53 (whicn is more powerful), then you dont have to change the motherboard as well (as from now, both Procesors have same number of pins).
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
1:AMD 64BIT is good choice.
2: dual channel wont bring significant performance as what u get out of AMD 64Bit
3: dont buy 9800PRO in 256MB (either go for 9800PRO 128MB or 9800XT 256MB), 9800PRO 256MB has showed poor results as compared to 9800PRO 128MB.

and in motherboard, do not buy on nVidia chipset, go with VIA chipset, on models K8V Deluxe, (if you are buying 754 pin version of processor) and MOST RECOMMENDED is that, as now AMD has made both Athlon 64BIT and Athlon FX 53 on same pin design (i.e 939 pins), BEST is to buy Asus A8V Deluxe (on VIA K8T800 Pro chipset), this will help you out in such a way, that in case you decide to upgrade your processor from AMD 64BIT to AMD Athlon FX 53 (whicn is more powerful), then you dont have to change the motherboard as well (as from now, both Procesors have same number of pins).
Ok now if I was to get a 3000+ 64 bit or a 3200+ 64 what do oyu think you be the better value? With the 3000+ I may be abel to buy a better graphics card.
__________________

Ice9 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.