Processor issue? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2004, 01:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Default Processor issue?

Hello I need some help

I have just built a brand new system

Motherboard: gigbyte GA-7N400
Proccessor: amd athlon XP barton 3000+
1 gig of kingston ram
Windows XP pro
======================
Problem: The computer will recieve errors installing software after a few minutes of runing, even during the install of the OS.
hiting retry will resume the installation without any problems.

The computer gets BSD (blue screen of death)

Software randomly shuts off

computer will turn off after a while of runing
=============================
Here is what I did to trouble shoot the problem
reinstall the OS
checked the bios settings 10 times
checked and made sure that the heat sink is installed properly (on the processor)
updated bios
==========================
what I found
when switching the auto detection for the processor switch and letting it run at half the speed I have no problems what so ever.
the computer can keep on runing. but the system does not recoqnise the processor and it is runing it at 1.2 gig instead of 2.2.

So this leads me to believe that that my processor might be broken, or I might be missing some bios setting.
ram, corupt hardrive, or OS trouble is eliminated as a cause of the problems in my opinion but i could be wrong.

Does anyone have any better idea on this? I am very unshure of this.

help would be greatly apriciated.
__________________

gummball is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 03:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Did u put on thermal paste on the cpu?
Can list down all your hardwares n PSU power?
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 03:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

well since u said it shuts off a while after running, check ur CPU fan. It may not be mounted right and your cpu is shutting its self off before it overheats its self and burns out.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 04:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

yea and make the fsb to 166mhz instead of 100mhz, and that should up it to 2.1 (3000+ runs at 2.1 not 2.2)
Demalii is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 11:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Default

I did not put thermal paste on the CPU, sense my understanding was that this was not necessary. the cpu came bundeled with the heat sink and a fan.
the Fan and the heat sink is mounted on the the cpu correctly I am shure of this.
I have checked it several times.
I am at work at the moment i will reply with more info on the hardware when i get home.
gummball is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 11:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

ok. Well put some thermal paste on there. Maybe thats ur problem.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

Well if the heat sync has a heat pad then he shouldnt put the paste on there, but if it doesnt then deffanitly put the paste on there.
chog is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 12:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Default

hi gummball. In an earlier post you said the computer shuts off after a while of it running. What PSU is currently in your machine?
Jimboy02 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 12:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Remove the Pad & use The paste instead.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 04:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Default

the processor does have the thermal pads on it.
it is 2 copper pads one on the processor and one on the heat sink.
The PSU is a 440W which should be enough power to suply my system.

I will try to buy the thermal paste, but the main thing that I am wondering is.

If this is a bad processor would it make sense that it works normaly at a lowe speed?
__________________

gummball is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.